Automatic zeros: Un-submitted work counts as zero

Automatic zeros: Un-submitted work counts as zero

In Blackboard Ultra, you can choose that zero is automatically awarded to assessments where the due date has passed and no assignment has been submitted. This can be a useful feature in some cases but also can cause anxiety amongst students particularly when it is first encountered.

If the Automatic zeros option is selected, when a student submits work after the due date, their grade will revert to hidden until you mark and repost the new grade.

Each module has a global setting which allows you to enable or disable the feature, and you should always have a quick look in the Gradebook when setting up a new module to ensure it is set the way you want it.

GB_settings_Button.png

To change the automatic zeros setting, select Gradebook at the top of your module and then the cog icon (available in the top right) to access Gradebook settings.

When the Gradebook settings open, scroll down to the Automatic Zeros section where you can enable or disable the feature.

Screenshot 2024-11-13 at 20.47.54.png

If the option ‘Assign automatic zeros for overdue work' is ticked and you deselect it, you will be asked if you wish to keep, or clear, any previously assigned automatic zeros for any assignments that have already been completed.

Video to clear auto zeros in the Gradebook